The Organizing Committee and the Latvian Orienteering Federation are delighted to be the hosts for the 7th European Orienteering Championships and World Cup in Ventspils, Latvia from 25 May to 1 June 2008. We welcome all friends of orienteering in Ventspils.

  Menu :.

 Event Centre
 Embargoed areas
 EOC Tour
 Start lists
 Results and photos
 Route Gadget
 Video reports
 Start lists
 Results and photos

  Media supporters :.

  Supporters :.

Long qualification

Today was the long distance qualification near the Liepene camping, aproximately 20km from Ventspils. It was 10,9km race for men and 6,5km long course for women classes. The best 17 for every heat qualified for the tomorrow's race in Irbene.

Winners in the men's heats were Pasi Ikonen (FIN), Erik Ohlund (SWE) and Matthias Merz (SUI). Once agin there were some surprises like after yesterday's sprint qualification. Scott Fraser who was the 4th in the sprint finished in the 19th position. The Swiss runner Matthias Muller was 18th in the same heat, and also Yuri Omeltchenko, who has won several medals in previous European championships wil not run compete for the medals in the tomorrow's final. Valentin Novikov who was the 4th two years ago in Estonia and missed the final yesterday was not even on today's start list.

Men - Heat 1
1 Matthias Merz SUI 55:17
2 Baptiste Rollier SUI 55:26
3 Audun Hultgreen Weltzien NOR 55:43
Men - Heat 2
1 Erik Ohlund SWE 55:22
2 Anders Nordberg NOR 56:26
3 Mats Troeng SWE 56:28
Men - Heat 3
1 Pasi Ikonen FIN 54:51
2 Daniel Hubmann SUI 55:48
3 Mertin Per Johansson SWE 55:58

In the women's race Minna Kauppi (FIN) was missing, who took the 4th place yesterday. Although she was in the start list, she did not start. The yesterday's winner Anne Margarethe Hausken (NOR) proved that she is not only good in sprint, she won also women's A heat. The winners in the other heats were Emma Engstrand (SWE) and Signe Soes (DEN).

Women - Heat 1
1 Anne Margarethe Hausken NOR 42:24
2 Lina Persson SWE 42:51
3 Dana Brozkova CZE 43:55
Women - Heat 2
1 Emma Engstrand SWE 41:05
2 Ingunn Hultgreen Weltzien NOR 42:35
3 Natalia Korzhova RUS 44:17
Women - Heat 3
1 Signe Soes DEN 40:16
2 Tatiana Ryabkina RUS 40:23
3 Sofie Johansson SWE 40:58

Tomorrow the long final will start at 15:00. The start lists for the tomorrow's race will be published in the Start list section as soon as available.

  Generalsponsors :.

  Sponsors :.